Challenge failed

Recently I participated in the Live your Legend blogging challenge and made myself accountable to post at least one article per week for the next two months.

challenge_accepted

How hard could that be?

Unfortunately I failed. I was able to last for only a couple of weeks until I gave up. I thought it would be a piece of cake since I had a lot of content floating around in my head waiting to be published. However having content is not enough, I need to learn the skill of organizing my thoughts and ideas so that it has some semblance of logical flow in it that others can understand and not just the geek inside of me.

Challenge failed
Challenge failed

Well I don’t really consider it as a failure because in reality, the only failure we have is when we don’t try. Sometimes failure to achieve a goal is even better than succeeding because you learn a lot more lessons from it. What is important is to accept defeat, learn from it and stop making excuses. If you treat life as one big experiment on finding the things that works and those that do not, it takes away most of the ego induced pain attached to failure.

LESSONS LEARNED

  • Don’t bite off more than you can chew
  • Before making any commitments, figure out if it is aligned with the bigger picture
  • Focus and eliminate distractions
  • I usually over estimate what I could do in a given period of time
  • Participating in challenges and bets with deadlines and becoming accountable (like asking a friend to bug you about it) will force you to either achieve that goal or prioritize something else more important. You will figure out what really matters to you and make you choose between sacrificing one goal in order to achieve another.

Getting back to the drawing board

The first quarter of the year is over. This is the year when most people forget all about their goals for the year and wait until the next January to start a never ending cycle of failed New year’s resolution.

Looking at my own list, I am thankful for the things I’ve accomplished but there are a lot of things that I failed to do as well in the last three months

Time to look into it, review and extract any valuable lessons and nuggets of gold I could get and treat it not as failure but part of the learning process.

If you are reading this, what is your progress in your 2015 goals? 10%? 15% What are the things that didn’t go as planned and what are the things that you succeeded at? Share it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

